Oral Work

Happy Sunday Parents,

I hope everyone is enjoying their weekend so far.  I am having a restful one after an awesome day at Sports on Friday.  Of course you guys know by now that RED HOUSE are the CHAMPIONS!!!!  Sorry blue, yellow and green, you guys will have to try harder next year.

Image

It is fast approaching week 5 in a 13 week term.  That means that we are almost half way through the term. Usually at mid-term I attempt to send home the worksheets that we have completed so far for the term.  However, this term this will not be the case.  This term I have been focusing more on oral work than completing worksheets.  I believe that it is so important that our Barbadian children be able to stand up and speak for themselves.  So many times on television we see children being interviewed and their oral skills are very poor.  I don’t want that to be the case for the children in my class.  I want them to be confident, competent speakers.  I want them to be able to carry on a Standard English conversation among their peers and with anyone who engages them in conversation , so thus far this term I have been encouraging my kids to speak.  We complete worksheets still, but orally and most times in small groups.  It works me a whole lot harder than just distributing the worksheets for pupils to complete individually, but I know that in the end I will reap many rewards for having done it this way.

So parents get your children talking.  Here are some useful tips that you can employ at home to assist your child in becoming a competent, confident speaker.

1. Eye contact is very important.  Insist that you child makes eye contact with you when you are engaged in a conversation.

2. Insist that your child uses complete sentences, and correct grammar when speaking. Our Bajan dialect often sees us leaving out the verb “to be”.  For example : Instead of “I here”, the correct sentence is “I am here”. The same with the dialect “she there”.  It really should be “She is there”.

3.  Most importantly parents you must model these behaviours for your child. Let them hear you speaking in complete sentences and using the correct grammar.  You are your child’s first teacher!

Get modelling,

Miss Foster

2 thoughts on “Oral Work

  1. I agree with what you have said. Dennis and I always stop Destiny when she is speaking to quickly have her words all mixed up. We tell her to stop and think about what she wants to say before she says anything. It all works out fine in the end. i believe that standard english is the key.

Leave a Reply

